With Princess’ Beauty and Love

“I Wish to meet Queen Elsa”

– Ching-ching, 3, Acute leukemia

We all may dreamt about to be a princess or a prince once when we were young, elegant, charming and blissful with adorable appearance. Among all princesses that Ching has known, Queen Elsa and Princess Anna from movie Frozen are her favorite while she is particularly fond of their beautiful, long hair.

It is always hard to imagine a 3-year-old little girl like Ching has to live with fear, pain and stress from illness and medical treatment. Last October, she became severely ill and was then diagnosed with acute leukemia. Not just the hardship of chemotherapy, the anxiety itself has already made her suffer – she tried to distract herself by fingernail skin-picking, but it only caused more wounds on her fingertips.

What shocked Ching most was losing strands of hair, a symbolic appearance to be a real princess. To her, the princess dream was seemingly vanished yet she still upheld a chance to meet Queen Elsa and dance with her.

Ching’s mother tried to hold back her tears and face the challenges with the lovely girl. Not until did Ching realize hair loss her mother burst into tears. The mother wanted nothing more than seeing her daughter smile. That was the reason why she purchased an annual pass of Hong Kong Disneyland for the family just because Ching could meet the princesses anytime. However, a buzz of excitement was replaced with disappointment every time when she brushed past her idols.

Transform into Princess and Meet the Real One

Ching could never ever imagine that her wish could came true in an unexpected way. She and her parents, again in Disneyland, same place, same scene in the Royal Princess Garden; but this time, Queen Elsa and Princess Anna came for Ching. Astonished to speak up, Ching was shy at the beginning but then took up her courage and expressed her love to them.

 

The Real Princess in Mother’s Eyes

Not only did Ching experience the life-changing moment of Wish Journeys, so did her mother. It has been a tough time coping with the critical illness; yet they have got more – INSPIRATION.

“Like an ordinary mother in Hong Kong, I used to think of her study path. And now, health and happiness are top of my mind and the only two things that I wish for.”

Acknowledgement: Hong Kong Disneyland Resort

Other Related Articles

澄澄的公主夢

「我想與愛莎女皇見面! 」

– 澄澄, 3, 急性白血病

每個小女孩都有個公主夢,嚮往像公主般美麗和幸福,而澄澄最喜歡的就是《魔雪奇緣》的愛莎女皇和安娜公主,還有她們那把又長又厚的頭髮。

澄澄才3歳,幼嫩的身體卻要承受病魔折磨。去年10月,她高燒不退,多次診斷才證實患上急性白血病,媽媽一直不忍心澄澄知道自己的病況,但伴隨而來的一連串化療,吊鹽水、打針、落藥,令這個小女孩平日再活潑愛笑,也變得焦慮至經常搣手指,撕得10隻手指頭都要包紮。

病患帶來的突變,還包括失去本來蓄下的長髮。看著媽媽如常為自己梳頭,竟梳下大量頭髮,澄澄的心情,不難想像。別說要自己變身公主,那怕是和公主見面,已心滿意足。常常在家中打扮成Elsa的澄澄,最大的願望就是可以看到公主、和公主跳舞。

陪伴女兒面對一個又一個的難關,當媽媽的一直強撐下去,直至有一次澄澄的頭髮因治療的副作用而一撮一撮的掉下,媽媽的眼淚再也忍不住了。疼愛女兒的她為鍾情公主的澄澄買了迪士尼樂園全年通行證,讓澄澄隨時都可到樂園遊玩,但很多次澄澄滿心歡喜的出發,卻大多垂頭喪氣而回,因為真的很難很難跟她最喜歡的愛莎女皇見上一面呀!

見到公主 成為公主

她們做夢都沒想過,在澄澄的願望日,願望能夠成真之餘,得到的比想像中還要多。那天,爸爸媽媽帶澄澄重遊迪士尼樂園,再次走過美國小鎮大街,這次不同的,就是愛莎女皇和安娜公主真的出現了!當日夜期盼的公主站在跟前、更跟她打招呼時,平日精靈好動的澄澄都錯愕了、頓時害羞起來,但很快,她就被對方的氣質所感染,漸漸淡定下來,變得如公主般大方得體,直視著喜歡的公主們的眼睛,說著最喜歡她們了!

 

一輩子都是媽媽的公主

見證女兒願望成真的快樂,媽媽比女兒更快樂。澄澄媽媽坦言患病痛苦,但願望旅程帶給她們啓發。

「本來已為她選好幼稚園、小學,準備給她學這些學那些,但現在只希望她不用再受病魔折磨,每天都能夠開開心心,那就足夠了。」

 

鳴謝:香港迪士尼樂園

其他相關文章