Super Fans in Premier League

“I Wish to Watch Manchester City F.C. ’s Match in Premier League”

– Long, 11, Non-Hodgkin lymphoma

Soccer is Long’s world and it is his aspiration to become a soccer player. He never expected that he experienced not just a match against cancer, but a match to recapture his long-awaiting goal and passion. It is not just a journey to Britain to watch Manchester City F.C.’s Match in Premier League, but a Wish Journey about being blessed and never giving up. Through Wish Journey, Long determined that no matter how strong the enemy he may meet in future, he will not be defeated but be stronger to fight back.

Suffering, Lost and Recapture

It was 3 years ago when Long was diagnosed with Non-Hodgkin lymphoma. It was the hardest time of him and the family. He could not go to school and was suffered from the side effect of his medical treatment: loss of appetite, hair loss and lack of sleep, not to mention running and playing sports. Soccer? Being bedridden, this is the least thing he would dare to think of, even this was his favorite sport in his life.

It was delighted to see the support from family and friends he has got. When Long was hospitalized, his mother made tissue ball and played finger football with him. There were blowing footballs and gantry as presents from their relatives. What’s more is the support from his football teammates. Whilst his coach insisted on preserving his position as a starter, the whole team demonstrated a strong team bonding – wearing T-shirt with “Fight for Long” printed to remind him of “One Team One Dream”, to tell him that he was not alone in the battle against cancer, and that they would wait for his return to their next race.

Backup by his beloved, Long completed the treatment when reaffirming his passion on soccer. In front of a Wish Journey in a lifetime, he made a soccer-related wish – to go to Britain and watch Manchester City F.C.’s Premier League Soccer Match.

To watch Manchester City F.C.’s Match, it was not just a Wish or a journey to Britain, but a Wish Journey that was enhanced by Make-A-Wish Hong Kong, after a tough battle against cancer and a struggle with his aspiration. In Britain, Long was not merely an audience, he also got a chance to step on the blue carpet and watched their training. Last but not least, the team also gave him a shirt with signature from full team, leaving a footprint for the whole journey.

“This is a blessed journey. Although there were many suffering along the road of treatment, we received much love and support, we will cherish everything we got,” said Long’s mother.

In future, Long may meet even stronger enemy, hopefully he can be persistent enough to face all test and challenges.

Other Related Articles

賽場上強大的敵人和更強的自己

「我想到英國看曼城英超球賽。」

– 朗朗, 11, 非霍奇金氏淋巴腫瘤

控球、刹球、入波‧‧‧‧‧‧成為足球員,在球場上衝鋒陷陣,是朗朗的願望,然而病魔卻先向他下戰書,使他差點放棄。由醫院到英國,能夠完成治療、重拾信心、實現願望、親身直擊曼城球賽,朗朗經歷了許多。這是一個改變生命的願望歷程,他下定決心,要勇敢迎接未來每一場比賽。

一場逆境波

3年前,朗朗確診患有淋巴癌,在最煎熬的日子,他休學一年、頭髮全掉、不能進食、睡覺時會突然痛醒。足球,平日摯愛,竟變成他最不欲接觸的東西--長期卧床的他連走路的力氣也沒有,枉論跑步踢足球。他以為今後再沒可能下場踢足球了,所以也不想幻想,不想聽,不想知。

一步一步,重拾對足球的熱情和期盼,靠的是身邊人的支持。

先是在住院期間媽媽把抺手紙揉成小球,與朗朗玩手指足球解悶,繼而是親友送來吹氣龍門和足球來打氣。和朗朗共渡時艱的還有他學校的足球隊,教練不單堅持保留他的正選席位,全隊球員更一起穿上印有「Fight for Long」的球衣,提醒朗朗他們是「One Team One Dream」,他們會支持他打敗癌症這個敵人,等待他回來再次一起比賽。

終於,朗朗情況開始穩定,他向願望成真基金道出一個和足球有關的願望:「我想去英國看曼城作賽。」

所以說朗朗到英國看曼城,不是普通一個球迷看英超這麼簡單,而是他在經歷一輪治療、一番掙扎後,重新確認對足球的熱情。在願望團隊的協助下,朗朗和家人出發到英國觀看心愛的球隊出戰英超聯賽。可以親眼目睹偶像阿古路的英姿,本已教他興奮期待。令他喜出望外的是,他不單是觀眾,更有機會觀看球隊訓練和踏上球場的藍地毯,朗朗父母形容:

「雖然患病令朗朗受了不少痛苦,但慶幸一路上遇到很多好人好事,這是一個blessed journey(受到祝福的旅程),我們會珍惜收到的愛。」

旅程來到尾聲,球隊還送他一件有全隊成員簽名的球衣,為整段歷程留下印記。

無論將來人生路遇到甚麼對手,希望朗朗都會好好記得這次歷程,懷著永不放棄的精神去面對。

其他相關文章